Registration an an Architect

The Board is responsible to Register people as architects who have demonstrated the required competence as set out in the AACA National Standard of Competency for Architects .

The Standard describes what is reasonably expected of a person who can demonstrate the standard of skill, care and diligence widely accepted in Australia as a competent professional architectural practitioner.

The most common pathway to registration is completion of an accredited Australian architecture qualification followed by the Architectural Practice Examination.

Full details relating to registration is on our registration page.

Accreditation of Architecture Programs

The Board plays a significant role in the accreditation of academic qualifications in architecture in Tasmania – currently the University of Tasmania – the Master of Architecture course

The eight state and territory architect registration boards have statutory responsibility for the accreditation of architectural programs of study within their jurisdictions. Programs accredited in one jurisdiction are recognised in any other jurisdiction in Australia and New Zealand.

For the purposes of accreditation, architecture programs are required to demonstrate that graduates meet 37 of the 70 Performance Criteria in the National Standard of Competency for Architects.

The Architecture Program Accreditation Procedure in Australia and New Zealand sets out the peer review process through which all architecture programs in Australia are assessed against the accreditation standard over five years or ten semester equivalence of learning cycle.

For more details on the Accreditation of Architecture Programs

Details of Australian Accredited Architecture Qualifications

Board of Architects Prize in Professional Studies – University of Tasmania- 

The Board of Architects Prize for Professional Studies recognises excellence achievement in Professional Studies in the final year of the Masters in Architecture by a student at the University of Tasmania. The Prize is based in meritorious achievement in aspects of architectural education related to readiness for professional practice based on selected performance criteria in the National Standard of Competency for Architects (NSCA).

For more details.

Past winners:

2023 Jessie-Anne Pankiw

2022 Danchun Yoa and Banruo Han

2021 Kylie Hunt

2020  Emily Hunt

2019  Ashley Goh

2018  Evan Davies

2017  Kwan Law

2016  Lewis Northcote

2015  Klye Holmstrom